Street Reviews

Follow
8.7

Great

Black Lightning – Street Reviews

10/10
It was good!

joshuatree-9573717 January 2018
I enjoyed the show. Black, White or Asian it was a good show I liked it :).

10/10
Great Show!

dacaptn-7827817 February 2018
This show is everything the Cage Netflix series wanted to be. In a very similar way that the Daredevil show was everything Arrow always wanted to be.

Not saying I didn’t enjoy Cage (I look forward to season 2) I just feel that this one pulled you in more. The villains have been done better.

I am glad I decided to watch it.

10/10
Loved and enjoyed the first episode so I am going to review it.

rudd-5954117 January 2018
20 years old in college and I love this show so far. I’m wondering why people are trying so hard to tarnish this show’s reputation on the first episode. It was actually a pretty great episode. It had relatable situations and an amazing way of introducing the protagonist. I like all the characters, they fit right in. This show challenges the standards and looks good doing it.

10/10
I love the Show! This will be talked about years to come!

TiuanaBell033 February 2018
The cast is AMAZING & it leaves you on the edge of your seat!

10/10
Black Power Literally…. Lol.

intreeslive19 January 2018
This is not great but its good… and its better than a lot of other shit out there. Im only giving it a 10 because it seems to have caused a lot of butthurt in the white american community… Im white, but I aint American, so I can enjoy this show without the guilt…Lol… Check it out for yourself.

10/10
This show is amazing!

Mzprttybrwneyez-118 April 2018
Point blank period! The people hating on this show is just that hating. One star? Come on!!! I’m a 48yr old woman and I love it. It has a strong storyline with realistic (as much as possible) fighting and power moves. I won’t go into race as to why some people might not like it so I’ll just leave that alone. Excellent show!

10/10
The electric hero

Tarrabyte18 January 2018
Static may never get a show, but hell, we got Black Lightning. I love this show and can’t wait for them to make this work with the rest of the CW shows.

Something I would like to address:

People in these comment sections don’t understand how the comic book world works. You need to have a basic understanding of that and you will be happier. So stop being a dumbass’ and appreciate a comic book come to life.

9/10
A great addition to the superhero genre.

unitedbladeentertainment4 April 2018
Black lightning is surprisingly excellent, not at all what I had expected when I first heard of this show. I thought we weee getting another Flash or Arror. What a surprise! A superhero show with a reality twist, tackling issues you usually don’t see with this genre. Reading all the hate, I see some just don’t understand how these characters react and deal with certain issues, and that’s what’s great about it. It’s different, and if you don’t understand the culture, that doesn’t make it a bad show. It’s actually very well written and acted. Some characters seem a little stiff, but as time goes on, they’ll get more comfortable. There are phrases and situations in this show I haven’t heard or seen since I was a kid in Jersey. Every week I leave this show remembering or learning something new. I can’t wait for the crossovers!!!

9/10
Not as bad as they say

gq002510 October 2018
Other peoples reviews don’t really give the full reason why they think its bad, they just say its terrible with no explanation.

While Black Lightning is most definitely a unapologetically black nostalgia tv series, it discusses real issues that people can relate to in black communities. This is the reason why I love the show so much. Im a big fan of superhero TV shows and movies. This just adds to my collection.

Although the show just like others does not stick to the standard super hero, “beat up the bad guy and stop him from taking over the world plot”. It instead focuses on real issues local issues that we are dealing with today, while adding government conspiracy theories.

It does fall into the mobster/ shaft type category and even provides a nice sound track to some of the fight scenes which I love.

It also focuses on “Black lives matter” epidemic that has been plaguing the world lately. This along with other outlandish issues, like a street drug called “Green light” that could either kill someone or give them superhuman powers.

Black Lightning is not for everyone, however the scores people give it on this platform does not reflect the true credit this show deserves. Do your self a favor, if you like show like this, give it a try. Season 1 of Black Lightning is now on Netflix.

9/10
Black Jesus

memoling26 April 2018
Awsome pilot. Awsome cast. Only problem is it’s only 13 episodes for the first season

It took me a while to watch initially
carmenarenaserarealtor13 May 2018
I delayed my watching this show initially, because I was disappointed with the Luke Cage series, I like the writing and the actors are perfect for their roles. I am impressed by the writers ability to incorporate the headlines from today’s struggle in the community.

9/10
Ignore any low votes here and watch the show. Trust me, it will make perfect sense why they did. Same as it ever was.

clamfu-610-10892826 January 2018
First episode in and this is first rate, compared to recent oversaturated superhero show landscape. Not too campy, cartoonish or stereotypical but rather quite relatable, for members or non members of the depicted community. The acting is well done with no cringe worthy excess. This is This Is Us, with a different theme. Never having been one for superhero fare, either in novels or on screen, I heard the show runner interviewed on NPR and decided to check it out. For someone without a lot of time to watch TV, I lean into the usual top flight stuff, from Breaking Bad to GOT through Homeland, Good Wife, House of Lies and Westworlds, I will say that if the first episode is an apt indicator, do not be deterred from watching. They are compelling characters, a well balanced storyline and good actors to boot.

Those lamenting SJW, BLM etc, may have agendas, but if yours is good TV fare, watch it.

9/10
Awesome!

legz7123 March 2018
Love exploring this family as they find their way of being super heros and yet navigate their way to be a family unit.

9/10
Black and Bold

javonchisley19 April 2018
This show speaks clearly to the black community. So for us black nerds, it was long overdue. It is in the vein of the other CW super hero shows and is most definitely better than a few of them. Season 1 had some great moments but also had a few lapses I will admit but I am most assuredly here for a season 2!!

9/10
I cannot understand the hate

phoenixflight-734376 May 2018
Im a comic and movie nerd. I love marvel and most of DC, however I personally find that DC take the cake when It comes to TV shows. Starting in the early 2000’s with smallville, DC have been keeping up a regular schedule with comic shows. Starting in 2012 however, they made a fantastic show by the name of Arrow. They followed it up with The flash in 2014, as well as Supergirl, and Legends of tomorrow in 2015.

This is the most recent installment in their universe, and It is by far the best. The character relationships seep real, and even the plot line seems quite reasonable for the first season. I feel like this show gets to much hate, and is truly a rare gem in today’s entertainment world.

I do have to address that the main character does go though “main character syndrome”, and almost never gets hit in a fight, but even still its a comic book show, what can you expect.

9/10
A great addition to the superhero genre.

unitedbladeentertainment4 April 2018
Black lightning is surprisingly excellent, not at all what I had expected when I first heard of this show. I thought we weee getting another Flash or Arror. What a surprise! A superhero show with a reality twist, tackling issues you usually don’t see with this genre. Reading all the hate, I see some just don’t understand how these characters react and deal with certain issues, and that’s what’s great about it. It’s different, and if you don’t understand the culture, that doesn’t make it a bad show. It’s actually very well written and acted. Some characters seem a little stiff, but as time goes on, they’ll get more comfortable. There are phrases and situations in this show I haven’t heard or seen since I was a kid in Jersey. Every week I leave this show remembering or learning something new. I can’t wait for the crossovers!!!

9/10
Great Lightning!

glenntor21 February 2018
So far it look like a great show. The story is good and i like the casting.

9/10
Not as bad as they say

gq002510 October 2018
Other peoples reviews don’t really give the full reason why they think its bad, they just say its terrible with no explanation.

While Black Lightning is most definitely a unapologetically black nostalgia tv series, it discusses real issues that people can relate to in black communities. This is the reason why I love the show so much. Im a big fan of superhero TV shows and movies. This just adds to my collection.

Although the show just like others does not stick to the standard super hero, “beat up the bad guy and stop him from taking over the world plot”. It instead focuses on real issues local issues that we are dealing with today, while adding government conspiracy theories.

It does fall into the mobster/ shaft type category and even provides a nice sound track to some of the fight scenes which I love.

It also focuses on “Black lives matter” epidemic that has been plaguing the world lately. This along with other outlandish issues, like a street drug called “Green light” that could either kill someone or give them superhuman powers.

Black Lightning is not for everyone, however the scores people give it on this platform does not reflect the true credit this show deserves. Do your self a favor, if you like show like this, give it a try. Season 1 of Black Lightning is now on Netflix.

9/10
CW has hit the mark with BLACK LIGHTNING

dubwize17 January 2018
Most new TV series these days have the same lame formula, not this one.

Black Lightning Episode 1 gave me chills, thrills and a realism that most TV just does not have these days. It is current, topical, political and has all the elements of a great superhero series. I was hesitant to watch it but was so glad that I did.

Teenage social media and Smartphone addiction, gangs of disaffected youth in a society that doesn’t care and Police that behave as a law unto themselves, it’s like real life on the screen with zero MSM rubbish. These are the serious issues affecting not just America but every 5 eyes Western nations today.

A bit heavy on the family drama but all necessary to the plotline. Really excited to see more of this however knowing The CW, this will be lucky to make it past season One, as all their good shows fail to do. The flashbacks to the past are few and only appear where needed. Clever editing, good script and decent special effects. This show deserves a 9/10

9/10
Great series about black people. I HOPE it won’t fail

MacTad17 January 2018
Warning: Spoilers

8/10
Disregard the Haters

ksdouglas-2361822 January 2018
Too be honest, I went into this story with low expectations. I thought it were another Luke Cage set in the DC Universe. (Actually, it sorta IS DC’s Luke Cage. Only this time around, the story centers around a older man raising two daughters and enduring the aftermath of a messy divorce. It’s a humble hero who isn’t perfect, doesn’t know what he wants and doesn’t have all the answers. Some reviews have said that the protagonist is an idiot and can’t figure anything out, but I like to think of it as a man being overwhelmed with the daily struggle we all go through while also contending with these powers that could both change the world or make it a worse place to live in.

I’ve noticed a slew of reviewers rate this show a staggering 1/10 because it depicts all white characters evil (in the first episode, there’s literal one white guy who is a police officer who’s a jerk) but reviewers keeps mentioning that one jerk but totally disregarding the other white gentleman who, to the protagonist, is as a father figure and mentor, 95% of the actual jerks are black guys who cause the protagonist some serious headache.

I also laugh when some reviews say the actors’ performances were poor. Uhhhh… no, not by a longshot. Compared to DC: Legends of Tomorrow or Supergirl, these actors are pretty good in their respected roles. Actually, the performance in the premier are up their with Arrow.

I’ll just add this last bit, given certain reviews added to this title. I’ve noticed some flack being thrown at this title for the sole purpose that the show features mostly black people. Enjoy the show for what it is and what it features with an open mind. At the end of the day, it’s all entertainment.

8/10
Surprising…

heylel19747 February 2018
This is probably the best superhero show on traditional TV-it certainly beats out Arrow, The Gifted, The Flash, etc. Part of this is because the drama feels a lot more realistic and is better-written than the aforementioned shows. It’s also interesting to see a more mature character in the role of the hero, than just another young, pretty face.

It’s a bit less action-oriented, and more “talky” than you’d expect from the genre (especially the second episode), so if you’re looking lots of action, this may not be your cup of tea (though I’d suggest giving it a shot because, IMO, it works).

I think the biggest downside is that the hero’s suit is a bit dippy. Can’t have everything, I suppose. 😀

8/10
Don’t believe everything you hear

dynver28 April 2018
Watching the first episode, I thought ‘Maybe the rest of this season will get better.’ And as I predicted, it did. As a black-based superhero show it’s doing pretty good so far, in my opinion. I mean, it doesn’t compare to Arrow, which is my favorite CW show. The actors are great, the plot is interesting, and the action scenes are somewhat well-choreographed. This show is worth watching.

8/10
I love the storyline!

apregister085 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers

Pretty interesting TV series, a high school principal is also Black Lightning.
TxMike18 April 2018
Last night was the last episode of this new TV series. It stars Cress Williams as Jefferson Pierce, high school Principal and father to two teen daughters. His wife is a physician. Gradually they all become familiar, with varying degrees of acceptance, of his Black Lightning alter-ego.

This is not a black-only story with a black-only cast. However it does focus heavily on issues that face blacks more than other ethnic groups. And at opposite ends of the morality scale, both the hero and the big villain are black characters. I watched most episodes and like the series very much, it is both entertaining and contains some important social commentary. Williams is very good in the lead role. I hope it comes back for at least one more season but I will only watch it if there are more varied story lines. The last few episodes have focused too strongly on Jefferson’s feud with the gangster who was responsible for his father’s death and, while that has been interesting the stories really need to move past that and into other interesting areas.


8/10
Ignore the Haters-make your own decision.

mwatts-856-43973830 January 2018
I expected to see some hate, but the abnormal amount in here is disturbing on many levels, but that’s a topic for another day. The stereotypes that some complain about are no different than the ones that always show blacks as the thugs, pimps, drug dealers, etc. that litter so many levels of entertainment.

One reviewer spoke of how Tobias was made to look “so white” and I have to wonder if he’s ever seen an Albino brother before, because that is how he looks ALL THE TIME!.

Anyway, it’s not Othello but what comic fare is?. I normally wait until 3 episodes air then binge watch, but I was drawn to start a day before the 3rd because a friend said it’s getting killed review-wise.

So my post/review is simple. I hope it gets 8-10 episodes before CW eventually cancels it because it hears the haters who dissed it in here. I’m not their target audience, I’m a black man in his 50’s who enjoys the music, the messages, and the subtext sprinkled throughout this show. And for another reviewer, not ALL white men are portrayed as villains, ummm… Gambi??


8/10
If you make it til Epsisode 5, it really gots you.

guenni-7337823 July 2018
Watching a movie with 95% black actors is a bit unusual und maybe disturbing at first sight, but also very educational (Black People watching older movies with 95% white actors sure feel the same). After Episode 3, 4 or 5 I didn’t see them as black/white people anymore, but just as humans without any colour. Good job.

Why the producers jeopardize this good impact with letting a white actor (one of the bad guys) speak “Let’s america great again” and draw a line to actual presidency, will be a miracle forever. It’s like building a wall exactly where you just pulled one down. Counterproductive. Bad Job.

Besides this, it’s a very entertaining show which I would like to see more Espisodes. Actors are very likeable and the story has potential for more Seasons.

8/10
If you like any of the shows marvel Netflix wise
or aero give this a shot don’t listen to the haters, John Campia is even a fan
ryanv3624 April 2018
I think all the actors a splendid it hits home for a show it’s not just a superhero show it’s a man trying to weigh doing the right thing while parenting his daughters and keeping this family together. Trying to rekindle with his wife while trying to keep the city he loves together. Uncovering secrets along the way they all do a great job with adversity and having things thrown at them

8/10
A new kind of superhero

lightacandle6 February 2018
There are a lot of reasons this show stands out. It’s story is centered around the daily and life-long experiences of people of colour in America, for one. It provides us with the depiction of a family that loves and cares for each other, is accepting of each other, with two successful and intelligent daughters and parents that are working through their own relationship to be more present and nurturing for their children. The title character is a new kind of superhero, not just because he’s a proud black man, but because he’s older, he’s world weary, he’s made difficult choices to protect his family. He’s grappling with how those choices have affected a greater community. It’s a new and powerful story. It’s well told. It’s well shot. It’s well acted. I love seeing an out and proud lesbian character whose story doesn’t revolve around coming out or shame. She never hides who she is, and I think we need more heroes like that. The only trouble I have with the show is that, coming from watching the Marvel Netflix shows, it’s a little jarring to transition to a network television show where the violence is toned down for TV. I get it, it’s probably a good thing, it makes the story more accessible, but it takes some getting used to.


8/10
Lightning Has Struck…

highmarksreviews21 January 2018
The CW has proven itself capable of handling superhero TV for years now and thankfully, Black Lightning seems to continue this trend. A separation from the crowded Arrowverse and creative freedom benefits this show greatley as it tackles social issues not really touched by other entries of the genre. It focuses on one big story and its narrative is surprisingly strong, with a good script and charismatic performances. Action scenes are vibrant and fun to watch, but it’s really the story that will viewers back. It’s not episodic, you have to see the whole picture. Despite its premise, the show aims to be a realistic one, which (in its own way) manages to ground all characters, both heroes and villains alike. Black Lightning, however does not add anything truly new to the genre, but it fires on nearly all cylinders when it comes to reminding us why said genre is so intriguing and entertaining.

8/10
Entertaining but not without flaws

evanshins12 September 2018
Overall, Black lightning is an enjoyable show with interesting plot points and incredible action. Cress Williams is great as Black lightning, as he is both physically intimidating while in constume and convincingly plays a strong leader. The storyline of his daughters discovering their powers is interesting and creates an enjoyable family dynamic. Peter Gambi is one of the most interesting characters on the show. He is so complex and you can not tell whose side he is on for the majority of the season.

The best part of this show is the mesmerizing action scenes. The show makes great use of Jefferson’s electric powers and thinks of creative ways to use them. Anissa’s powers are also really cool and the scenes where she stomps and claps to take out enemies are amazing. Although rarely seen, Jennifer has interesting powers that will likely be explored more in future seasons.

The main complaint I had about the season was that the show focused too much on other villains and not Tobias Whale. Tobias is so threatening and fascinating and Krondon, despite being new to acting, makes him seem human and almost sympathetic. However, much of the screen time of the show was devoted to other villains. The main example of this was the extensive focus on drug lord LaLa that ultimately went nowhere. It seemed that they were trying to build up to something with his character, but his character had little to no effect on the story. The ASA and Procotor were also overused throughout the season, and they were not even close to as interesting or menacing as Tobias.

Overall, Black Lightning is a good show with a great villain and I am excited to see what is in store for s 2.

6/10
Great but could be better

rameenfr6 February 2018
I’m not here to hate but it is significant to know this isn’t the best show out there, it is great but it’s not the best. Hollywood is fairly new to the whole diversity thing so it’s interesting to look at how they take on issues as sensitive as police brutality, racism ingrained in the justice system and gang violence. The show could definitely be so so much better but as of yet I haven’t seen anything very eye-catching and the story line seems uncertain and predictable.

5/10
Sinking Ship worth salvaging

galadegaffes2 February 2018
Screenwriting problems make it hard to enjoy with awkward flow, poor transitions. Sequence of events thrown at you as if a child wrote this. Haphazard introduction of characters doesn’t help poor character development. You are required to fill-in the blanks. Themes are good: protection of family, education to transcend a victim mentality and create good out of a bad situation. Has a Coach Carter feel to it. Has good actors if they where properly directed.

This mess makes the whole show feel like it’s throwing stereotypes at the viewer to see what sticks. I hope they hire some professional consultants to do a little mentoring. This sinking ship is worth repairing.

5/10
Definitely not a 9

torroutedipz13 May 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The lowers ratings on here are closer to the truth than the high ones. It seems many want to rate this show a 9 simply to try to defend it. I’m writing this as I watch episode 12, so that tells you (A) that I’m trying to stick with it and (B) it isn’t compelling enough to keep me off my phone. I’ve liked most of the CW/DC shows and typically just enjoy the ride. Black Lightning is also a fun show, but it is a little more lame than the others. When I first saw his suit I was like cmon please tell me this isn’t what he’s gonna wear. Seriously, Batman doesn’t stare ominous over Gotham with neon bat on his chest. Then we have the show’s song “I saw a superhero, he was black. He said this is for the street, Black Lightning’s back” lmao…seriously. I’m also not really a fan of his daughters BOTH suddenly getting powers just as JP decides to return as BL. There’s also no doubt that this show tries to focus more on social commentary much more than any of the other superhero shows. The people giving it 9’s and denying this are killing their credibility. Yes, it does portray the hold gangs have on the community, but there’s reference after reference of the black community being victimized by white people. While I do just try to let most of it slide and enjoy the show, it does get a bit offensive. There’s an episode in the beginning where the kids are protesting confederate monuments, there’s a reference to Flint, MI being a government test on the commmunity, the entire story revolves around the drug “Green Light” being unleashed in the community by “the man” to control the people. Of course when JP’s daughter gets arrested he has to remind her she’s black and all it takes is one cop to see her race and not her humanity, there’s an incident where BL condemns the police because they were about to shoot a subject who was high on Green Light and attacking them (despite the fact that the subject nearly kicks BL’s a$$). I really wasn’t planning on getting into this aspect too much, but as I’m writing JP is getting arrested and being sure to yell that “he’s not resisting, he’s complying”. Even the school mantra “Live your live by any means necessary” is an homage to Malcolm X. So as much as I’m trying to ignore these things, the social commentary is very much in your face, and those denying it is there are as closed minded as the people they’re dissing who are giving it 1’s. So my 5 is based on the merit of the show, overlooking any political statements. I can easily see how this would turn some people off and they would give it a 1 because it makes the show less enjoyable. I can’t defend those giving it a 9 just because of the politics though because the political statement doesn’t make up for the overacting, lame writing. I am still watching it and just trying to enjoy it as a fun show, but the politics takes away from light hearted fun and yes, the show is pretty weak compared to the other DC shows. I do like the jazz and blues music that’s strewn throughout the show though…that suit though lol.

5/10
What did I just watch?

joncolley23 January 2018
I’ve been looking forward to this for a while, now I’m just sad…

I fully expect that this will get great reviews and the ratings will be 8+ because it’s a black super hero – I get the need for representation but, c’mon… This is just poor…

It’s just a bunch of cliches which if they’d been filmed by a white person would have been called racist. There is very little depth, the characters are shallow and do not hold your attention.

Black lightning himself basically just potters about a bit wearing one of Michael Jacksons suits from the 80’s – he’s about as slow as a hero might ever want to be on his day off! At one stage a guy is stood in front of him, maybe a meter away when he shoots him… In his suit… Not in his head, in his suit…

Now there is a slim possibility that it might get better, I’ll certainly continue to watch on the off chance but for the moment if you want a black super hero go watch Luke Cage which is infinitely better.

5/10
Started Strong and went downhill after that..

BatmanFunReviews201818 January 2018
A retired superhero becomes a vigilante for justice. Black Lightning was a show that i was pumped about and for a few episodes it was actually really good and Cress Williams perfomance was excellent, unfortunately the over bombastic political themes, bad and annoying rap songs and the god awful villains made this newest entry in the CW DC TV Shows a half cooked mess. I hated most of the characters except the leading man, the black lives matter message was all over the place and even the action was a bit lackluster. Overall i’ll give it another chance with Season 2 but if it doesn’t reach my demands? I’ll probably stop watching early on. (5.2/10)

5/10
Meh

heydiddlediddle0078 July 2018
The acting is horrible, dreadful. The youngest daughter is so annoying she almost single handedly ruined it all. Just all around a yawner


5/10
I want to like this show

worksmart-5850618 October 2018
Good premise and potential, and some good acting and special effects. Conversely, the massive cheese factor in the writing combined with some equally bad acting, make it impossible to really get involved in the show.

5/10
It’s OK, but it’s not great.

unbeltedsundew24 January 2018
For Episode 1

The story sort of works and over all I think the acting is pretty good (except, ironically, the lead, but I think that is more to do with the material he is given to work with). The show can’t seem to decide whether to go full camp or go full serious and so it’s sort of stuck in a stylistic limbo. There is a serious amount of SJW posturing going on which is irritating, and definitely detracts from the show, and indeed is belied by everything in the story, so it’s also kind of amusing in a sad way. Although what would one really expect from a character created for a different age, and specifically for pushing this sort of propaganda? While it’s a misstep it isn’t really a death knell for the show so it should be interesting to see where it goes, and to see if the characters develop past the one dimensional cutouts they are in the first show. I’d Rank it somewhere below The Arrow, certainly don’t expect anything approaching the subtlety, nuance and craft of the Netflix marvel hero shows most notably its obvious comparison Luke Cage.

5/10
Come for the reviews, stay for the snowflakes.

dvo102 February 2018
It’s not good, it’s not (really) bad. It’s very average. The action sequences are pretty laughable, and look like they belong in the nineties. Shows can’t get away with that anymore, not with others (think Daredevil) raising the bar.

I watched the first episode, and I won’t be watching the second. To be honest, the most entertainment I got from the show was coming on here and seeing all the racists calling the series racist.

Damn Snowflakes.

5/10
Pulled me in and pushed me right away

liam_nb18 October 2018
Season 1 wasn’t bad, decent story fun action not bad acting but it had a lot of that social justice stuff at it’s core which is fine sometimes and I can usually forgive it if it forwards the plot and characters which it did a bit but season 2 is where the illusion drops there are two specific scenes that just screaming all white people are the villains if you see a white person in season 2 they are going to be bad somehow. After seeing iron fist get the dump after season 2 maybe this should as well I can’t see it getting better.

5/10
It’s…okay

gitrdonex429 April 2018
Not great but not terrible.The more I watch it though, the more I hate the layers the family has throughout the show. They’re just hypocrites that think their own personal agendas are what everyone should follow but every family’s somewhat dysfunctional.The albino villain in a nice change but his boss is a terrible actress. About the racism undertones people talk about, I get where they’re coming from but it’s not a Paul Mooney performance. It just highlights a few topics in black communities. Relax. Overall, it’s okay but won’t get awards worth mentioning.

5/10
Step up the acting and the writing

iamharmless200115 March 2018
I like to see this show succeed as much as the Black Panther has in the theaters. The acting and writing needs to improve a lot!

5/10
What did I just watch?

joncolley23 January 2018
I’ve been looking forward to this for a while, now I’m just sad…

I fully expect that this will get great reviews and the ratings will be 8+ because it’s a black super hero – I get the need for representation but, c’mon… This is just poor…

It’s just a bunch of cliches which if they’d been filmed by a white person would have been called racist. There is very little depth, the characters are shallow and do not hold your attention.

Black lightning himself basically just potters about a bit wearing one of Michael Jacksons suits from the 80’s – he’s about as slow as a hero might ever want to be on his day off! At one stage a guy is stood in front of him, maybe a meter away when he shoots him… In his suit… Not in his head, in his suit…

Now there is a slim possibility that it might get better, I’ll certainly continue to watch on the off chance but for the moment if you want a black super hero go watch Luke Cage which is infinitely better.

4/10
IF…..

stavrakisch2 February 2018
If the scenario was better…. and the characters also!!! (besides all the others, lesbian little girls…?? something so normal you meet in every family!!! – disgusting).

4/10
Don’t think this one is a keeper…

sfinancing31 January 2018
…but stranger things have happened. In order for it to stick around I expect they will have to make some major changes.

I usually at this point separate into a good and bad section but have decided to forego that in favor of…

The mediocre:

Williams does an okay job in the title role and the various supporting cast does a decent job as well. The writing is cliched, ripped from the headlines, caucasian executives idea of the African American life in the US garbage. I have to believe it is them that have given this one the 9 and 10 star reviews as I find it hard to believe that anyone has put this show on their “must see”, can’t wait for the next episode list.

The special effects give one an idea of what the 60’s Batman series could have accomplished with CGI. Seriously expect a BAM! or POW! when BL punches someone. Fight choreography on the same level.

BL version of Alfred owns a taylor shop? And he lets BL go out in public in the goofy glowing suit?

The rather inevitable comparisons to Luke Cage come now…not so favorably BL.

Production values…meh.

I’ll give this one through the first season, if it makes it that long, to get its act together…after all at heart I am a comic book nerd…but I am not holding out hope.

Free on the CW and worth what you paid. Well, as long as you dvr it and skip the commercials.

4/10
There’s potential

shanfan_1418 January 2018
I was a consistent superhero comic reader and knew something about this character, however, I had no preconceived notion going in. I found the casting to be very well done. Several threads could well lead to a more far-reaching storyline and I’d like to see where it’s going to go, despite some misgivings. I, too, saw unfortunate stereotypes both in story and in character which didn’t seem to be necessary to tell a story which has already been portrayed in numerous vehicles. Although I recognize the validity of the experiences rendered, it seemed as though every one that could possibly be crammed into a pilot, was. I can’t believe that all we know of a black urban experience consists solely of gangs, various criminals of other kinds, and ancillary people who fit into that picture. I did mention to someone watching with me that if I heard the inevitable phrase “get your black a**” somewhere (more than once, no less) it wouldn’t enhance the caliber of the dialogue and would cater to some image both expected and disappointing. Even if accurate in some circles. It just seemed forced and, given that I admired the gravitas of the lead character, it just seemed like a remark that someone of his caliber might have eschewed. I’ll watch and hope for more.

4/10
Just not good.

tinmanbryan13 June 2018
I finished this movie simply to see the ending. While the writing had few good moments and the fight scenes were okay the rest was just bad. The dialogue was just cringe and the acting was only good at moments. This wasn’t the worst show ever, but it’s not good. The could of made this story way better, but they didn’t. This story deeply needed better writers when it came to the dialogue and how the powers were set up. I understand this is made off a comic, but still. I found my self cringing at this a lot. After watching shows like the Iron Fist and Luke Cage I found that they just couldn’t compare to how bad this is. With the comparison of Luke Cage being used so often I see it as being the little kids version of it. How they called kept calling themselves heroes and that they had powers it just didn’t settle with me. If you watch Luke Cage they did nothing like this. It was more realistic and set into a more mature audience. If you’re over the age of 16 you’re probably gonna find it cringe and hard to watch. It’s simple as that.

3/10
Campy, silly, and the same spotlight on black culture that you’d expect.

jegd-847-63140717 January 2018
They take a black superhero and immediately make a story with gangs, guns, drugs, prostitution and every cliche from comic books about black heroes. It’s bad story telling right out of the box. It’s looking at liquor stores on every corner of poor neighborhoods and saying, “That’s just how black neighborhoods are.” NO. This is a man with incredible abilities, but because of the lack of knowledge by white executives & white writers; the only challenge Black Lightning will face is a school shooting. Supergirl gets to fight crazy aliens from all over the galaxy, but a black man who can shoot lightning bolts out of his hands is left to fight highschool dropouts?

The music for the show is predictable, the dialogue is undeveloped and that suit is no better than Black Lightning’s old disco days. DC can’t write good characters. How the hell do we have Marvel all over Netflix setting the standard but this is the best DC can muster? Change it up or it’ll get dull really fast.

8.7

Great

Lost Password

Lost Password

-->

Sign In